Turning the wheel…

…..when the blue water plays with the shore to tell something…..

A wish to rewind my childhood!

Posted by Rewa Smriti on September 23, 2010

I wish I could rewind back to my childhood…

My endeavors to write about my memoirs of Navodaya was born out of my desire to walk down my memory lane and thus hand-pick all golden moments to present to my readers.  I realize that the time I have spent in Navodaya is quite unforgettable. My parents had decided to enroll me in Navodaya in a small village with a unique motive. Navodaya is a place where one can discover the wonders of village kids and how these kids grow their senses into an extraordinary realm. That has been an inspiration and I feel I am executing and documenting my life positively in a creative way. I hope I am always able to go on this way.

I spent seven long yet tender years in Navodaya and that is definitely the best part of my life. It taught me to love, laugh, cry, share, live and let live. In December, 2006, I visited my school after a long gap of eight years. The pathways to the school building now have shady trees which we had once planted as part of our extra curricular activity…but somewhere deep within, I had a doubt whether the trees still remembered me now? As we were having a small GT (get-together), there were no classes. The campus was virtually empty and quiet. I saw the walls that we had decorated with all sorts of posters and graffitis. I asked…the kabaddi, kho-kho, basketball grounds…the slipper…the empty class rooms, the benches but all remained silent…amused…I grasped…life at that time was so simple…

Walking on the same street who forgot to teach me “how to forget those moments”, I remembered all those jokes, growing up, fighting among friends and even the sad moments! The fantastic fun moments especially the “Teachers vs Students cricket Match” (my favorite match), the exciting commentary… “the situation came to four balls to go, six runs to win, only one wicket remaining and at last umpire signals re-ball for the no-ball from Teachers team…” hehehe! 😛 Time takes just a second to become our memories. How can I forget all those moments which I have spent in my school? I know, I can not get my childhood back but will I be ever free from the memories? It is not  possible for me to ever be free, neither do I have the desire to let go of these memories till I exist on this beautiful planet.

Life lives in our memories as a song sang by kishore da…”aane wala pal jane wala hai” a moment just passes by making one happy or bleak… and what remains is just those golden and striking memories, we all cherish…It is just like flowing waters in the river which can change the direction but never ever to come back…!!!

I would be thankful to god if he return my “bachpan”, one more time.

31 Responses to “A wish to rewind my childhood!”

  1. jitendra said

    wow!!!! di nice……apne to jnv k sari yaden tajakar din……di savi navodiyans ke ki feeling ek jaise hi kyu hota hai…..really i proud to be navodiyan…..thank u di….

  2. Rony said

    Nice one as it holds Navodayan flavour…This article gifted me a smile over my past navodaya life for a while..

  3. Jyothsna said

    Very nice article…ur article made all those sweet memories fresh….I still remember that I used to have two plants black berry n guava…I used to water them, decorate them n used to clean them…oh those were really golden days of my life….

  4. avnish said

    hi di
    ab main kya likhon apne sara kuch to likh diya hain ,but main kewal itna kah sakta hoon ki mere navodaya ke aa jane se waha ke sabhi sajeev aur nirjiv vastuyin khush ho gaye honge kyonki main kaphi badmash tha aur hamesa badmasi karte rahta tha lekin maine enjoy khub kiya bhale hi utni padhai na ki ho .
    with regards
    avnish

  5. Amit Kumar 1st batch 1988 said

    rewa u can forget some moment but i cant because your sis was my class mate. both pallo latkase me dance was super. mai apni wife ko aaj bhi uchhal kar tera dance dikhata hu. wo merai life ka eak part hai ki jabbhi navodaya ko yaad karta hu tum dono sis automatically merai aankho kai saamnai aa jatai ho. i wish for ur great success in future.

  6. Dear Rewa,
    I can’t express the thrill of joy that had been passed through my heart when I got you mail and learnt your childhood of Navodaya. Really ,it is a great inspiration for the students of Novodaya.
    May God bestow you all peace and prosperity for your ensuing life.
    Yours affectionate
    Dr. D.K.Modi
    Principal
    JNV bokaro

  7. Nidhi said

    very well expressed..
    Childhood memory is d 1thing dat v can’t ever.. EVER forget..
    nd u reminded me my days..

  8. Rahul Singhai said

    Wow!! di..
    everyone of us can relate to this..

  9. SATYAM said

    OH REALLY DI………..
    AAPNE TO PURA NAVODAYA KE DIN KO EK PAL ME YAAD KO TAJA KAR DIYE……
    MISS MY NAVODAYA
    EK BAAT JANTI HO DI ………….
    HAME BHI ALUMINI DAY KE DIN CRICKET KA DIN YAAD TAJA HO GAYA JISME SAYAD AAPKA COMENTRY AUR BATTING LAJABAB THA.
    JAI HIND …………..
    JAI NAVODAYA …………

  10. Smriti said

    Those were days !!! 🙂
    I do miss especially ‘food and strike’ part + loooonnng morning assembly havin 2-3 prayers 😛

    lovely experiences…JNV katihar…nurtured us to move on… in very positive note…in our personal and professional life.

    Thanks to this institution.

    cheers navodayan !!

  11. Varun kumar said

    Again , an awesome piece of writing from Reva Di,…. Thanks Di for reminding us that we still have those grandeur possession in terms of beautiful memory .. Mujhe abhi bhi yaad hai.. ki jab 10th ke baad main school chhod raha tha..i wept.. ek chhoti kavita likhi thi tab maine.. “Neeyati” i would like to share
    “Neeyati”
    Jane kyun hota hai aisa
    kisi apne ki tanhai se
    hridaya darta hai mera
    ashru simayen langhkar
    aana chahti hai bahar
    par prabudhh hote ka ehsaas
    hai himalya ban kar khada
    rom rom rota hai mera
    kan kan murjhayasa hai
    vilag hone ki pida
    aatma tak ko
    mritpray kar rahi hai
    main Bhism na sahi
    kinchit bhawnaon ka sailab
    mere ander bhi to hai
    kaise batlaun main ise
    kaise samjhaun main ise
    ki duniya ki hai riti yahi
    milkar bichhudna hi hai
    neeyati teri………….

    Varun

  12. SAURAV ANAND said

    fantastic article di,
    kya kahoon wakai ye article fir se us haseen pal ki yaadon ko taja kar dia.sahi bataun us beete hue pal ka fir se aane waale lamhon me intjaar karta hoon par mujhe yakeen hai ki uss pal jaisa haseen ab dubara koi bhi pal nahi hoga,kyonki sab kuch badal chuka hoga ,saare dost,wo mahoul,chote-bare bhai ka pyaar,aapas me mil-bat ke sab kuch karna,khel-kood,thodi badmashi,thori masti,chup kar ktr bhagna aur movie dekhna………….in sab baton ka koi dusra option hi nahi hai ki dubara mile.so i really missed my passed day which was spent in NAVODAYA.
    Sach kahoon to jab-jab college jata hoon to apne navoday ko yaaad karta hoon ‘kya din the yaar’mere kahne ka matlab hai NAVODAYA is the best platform for tender growth.
    THANX

  13. ..Gr888t didi ..u refreshed all the Golden Memories of Navodaya life…..Koi to lauta do wo Navodaya ke 7 saal…dosto ke sath nightout,6th class me ghar ki yaad me rona,9th ka migration,cultural fest,games,Evening classes ka bunk…teachers ko pareshan karana..morning PET me neend me daudana….in sari yado ko kasak jag jagi didi aapka article padkar..Very Nice!!!!!

    With Regards
    Balram
    http://www.jnvalumni.blogspot.com

  14. Amar said

    its really nice… cherishing memories for lifetime 🙂 🙂

  15. Anil Pawar said

    really good rememberenece of childhood with NAVODAYA flavour… all JNVians have similar feelings. Thanks for making them alive…. keep the goodwork of preserving the NAVODAYA thinkings.

    -anil pawar (JNV Parbhani Maharashtra)

  16. ravi kiran said

    all the pictures of my navodaya life got refreshe!!!!!!!!!!!!!1:)

  17. mehek said

    hai wo bachpan ke din,wo khushiyan,wonderful memories rews,i felt like walking back in my school days.luv mehek.

  18. sukirti said

    wow di, really touching………. well that’s my home, yet i left it 3 years back but i wanna return,just to recall those happy days of my life…..i want to sing “i m with u” for my school,my home- navodaya.

  19. Manjunath said

    Its really nice to have those days back in memory lane albeit we can’t get them back… You have reminded me many such nostalgic things that I experienced in those valuable seven years. Thanks for sharing…

  20. Manjunath said

    Its really nice to have those days back in memory lane albeit we can’t get them back… You have reminded me many such nostalgic things that I experienced in those valuable seven years. Thanks for sharing… JNV,BANGALORE RURAL

  21. amrendra , jnv , bettiah said

    really nice one.

  22. Salahubdin said

    Thanks a million for this, I appreciate it. I can never forget those days of spending my childhood in school.

  23. Suraj said

    Sahi Jawaab!! Cool Article!

  24. G.K.SEN said

    Nice one ……………

  25. drvishwassaxena said

    I do agree perhaps childhood is the most memorable period every individual would love to revive if it could ever be possible.Hardly matters!life goes this way only,cause change is the force which moves the life ahead!Who knows tomarrow you would yearn to recapture this movement again,as every movement which is coming is ready to go! one song has energised me always and has pushed me happily ahead in my life i am quoting its opening line for you it speaks:
    में जिंदगी का साथ निभाता चला गया हर फिक्र को धुएं में उडाता चला गया
    make your alma mater as mansarovar and float becoming pious rivers like ganga and yamuna.All the very best.
    dr vishwas saxena

  26. hi di u have written vry well i m so happy .it has refrshed my school memries.all my frnds r vry glad aftr read this.thnks 4 this & wish a vry happx new yr to all navodians.

  27. Loved ur comments on my blog.
    saw ur blog. So whats up these days.
    Navodaya vidyalaya and such initiatives have made india what it is at present.
    Sujit

  28. ANUPRIYA said

    HI DI !MUJHE NAVODAYA CHODE PANCH DIN HI HUYE HAI JAB NAVODAYA MEIN THI TO CARRIER BANANA KA KRAZE HUM SAB (CLASSMATES)MEIN THA AB PMT KI TYYARI KAR RAHE HUN .TEEACHERS KO BAHUT MISS KAR RAHE HUN.VILLAGE SE SE HUN KOI SAMJHANE WALA HI NAHI MILTA.PANCH DINO MEIN HI AISA LAG RAHA HAI KI JAISE PANCH SAL BYANSE SUNNANA THOTI MASTI THOTI SHIKAYAT,THODI SAMAJHDARI,EK DUSRA KI HELP KARNA,SOCHATI HON KYA MERA COLLEGE ITANA BETTER HO SAKEGA.EET GAYE HON.VOCHAPATI CHURA KE RAT EK BAJE KHANA FRIENDS SE GAPPEMARNA ,BARISH KEDINO ME LIGHT JATE HI SHOR KARDNA,JORSE GANE GANA,TEACHERS KO DHi

  29. sukirti said

    @anupriya

    i understand how u r feeling ri8 now…. not just me.. every navodayan had gone through this phase so its better if i say “WE ALL UNDERSTAND HOW U MUST BE FEELING”
    N rahi clg ki baat so dnt worry India ka aisa koi clg ni hai jahan Navodayan na miley ….. 😀
    n jahan tak teachers ki baat hai toh phr thoda sa compromise karna hoga…. cuz navodaya gives us best….whether its a teacher or education. so cheer up gal…. a new morning is waiting for u …. 🙂
    wish u “GUD LUCK” for ur entrance exams …..

  30. Mayank said

    Thanks for such a wonderful post. It was a great read.

  31. Surya prakash said

    Thanks di for this type of great valuable updates about our navodiya vidayalaya

Leave a Reply

 
